Kahlan Amnell – Sword of Truth

Kahlan Amnell, Mother Confessor
Rogue
Rogue

Kahlan Amnell is a character from the Sword of Truth series of books and the Legend of the Seeker television show.

Kahlan grew up in the city of Aydindril, where she eventually led the Midlands after becoming the Mother Confessor, the most powerful of the confessors — a group of women with a supernatural power used to find the truth. After all of her “sisters” died at the hands of Darken Rahl’s quads, she sought the help of Zeddicus Zu’l Zorander in naming a seeker to stop the tyrant.

Choosing the right build for Kahlan was difficult because she has magic but doesn’t use spells. In the end I decided to show this by making some alterations to the half-elf race (see below). The half-elf, rogue, and sage combination also shows off Kahlan’s knowledge of magic, and the history, culture, and languages of the Midlands.

Kahlan Amnell’s Character Sheet

Download the PDF

Class: Rogue 1
Race: Half-Elf
Background: Noble Sage
Alignment: Lawful Good

Favored Weapon: Daggers 
Expertise:  Insight and Persuasion

Stats

STR DEX CON INT WIS CHA
8 (-1) 15 (+2) 12 (+1) 14 (+2) 14 (+2) 14 (+2)

Skills

Arcana +4
History +4
Insight +6
Intimidation +4
Investigation +4
Perception +4
Persuasion +6
Religion +4
Stealth +4

Traits

Personality Traits
I’m willing to listen to every side of an argument before I make my own judgment.

Despite my noble birth, I do not place myself above other folk. We all have the same blood.

Ideals
Responsibility. It is my duty to bring peace and justice for the people beneath me.
Bonds
I protect those who cannot protect themselves. I protect the Seeker.
Flaws
Those that don’t know me fear my power.

Race and Class Customization

Kahlan does not have darkvision and her Fey Ancestry does not protect her from magic to put her to sleep. Instead she has the High-Elf’s Cantrip trait, but can choose two cantrips instead of one.

Since Kahlan is not a thief, I’ve swapped her proficiency with thieves’ tools for a fifth skill.

Noble Sage Background

Skill Proficiencies: Arcana, History
Languages: Two of your choice

Equipment: A bottle of black ink, a quill, a small knife, a set of common clothes, white confessor’s dress, and a belt pouch containing 10 gp.

Feature: Position of Privilege

At Higher Levels

Suggested Feats: Dual Wielder and Martial Adept.

(Images are the property of ABC Studios.)

Author: Allison Morris

Greetings, I am Allison. I write about video games, tabletop games, and other geeky things.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Max Makhrov

Turn Google Sheets into Database

Khepera Publishing

The Greatest Little Game Company that could

Story Forge 7

Homebrew content for all RPG use

Later Levels

XP comes with age

A Geek Girl's Guide

A Geek Girl’s Guide is one geek’s corner of the internet, where she shares her love of her favorite geeky things.

The Hannie Corner

Reading Books and Playing Games All Day

Bubbling Brew - D&D Homebrews

Free for testing and feedback - Thank you!

Allison's Projects

Beating my game backlog, D&D creations & resources, gaming mods and apps

RPG Character Sheets

Downloadable pre-generated RPG characters